JRM-logo-2015

  

Planning Success for
Independent Business Owners

Testimonials

Chaleur Durable
Our experience with JRM has been life transforming! In business as well as in our personal lives. We had been looking for financial advice for years and struggling through the process of owning a small business. We knew there was a better way of doing business, but we did not know how.

When we attended HPBAExpo in March 2017, we went to a JRM workshop. Everything they said made so much sense…we knew that we had found what we had been looking for! We have been with JRM now for 6 months and our way of doing business has been transformed and is still being transformed. We now have a new outlook on managing our employees, of doing publicity, of selling, of managing the financial side…and the list goes on.

Hiring JRM has been a new beginning for us and one that was absolutely necessary for us to transfer to the next generation. We are moving forward now with a new outlook on business, a new hope for the future and excitement in everything we do. Our employees have caught the vision also and are excited with this new direction!

And what can we say about Mike…energetic, enthusiastic, encouraging, patient, discerning, bold, courageous, outgoing, engaging… He has bent over backwards to help us, and he has become a part of the team. He rejoices with us and cries with us. He does not hesitate to go out of his way to facilitate us. He has a huge heart and it overflows in everything he does…Thanks Mike!

Barbara Wright
Chaleur Durable
Your Dream Home
I knew my business, but I didn’t realize how much I didn’t know about running it until David Fass helped me view my business holistically. I now know the key metrics for each aspect of my business and how to manage by results instead of tasks. People know what is expected of them, and I am spending more time working on my business instead of in my business.

Heather Leighty
Your Dream Home
David’s Home and Sleep Center
I can’t believe how much has changed here in the four months that we have been working together. My wife, Brandise (our office manager and “brains of the outfit”), was actually able to relax and enjoy our vacation for the first time since we have been in business. In addition, coming back was great because our staff took care of everything while we were gone. There is so much less stress and frustration in our business which has helped our relationship.

David Wilkins, Owner
David’s Home and Sleep Center
Peltier Home Interiors
Lorna and JRM have been such a huge asset to our team, and I cannot say enough great things about working with them! We've been working together for over a year now and have exceeded expectations in regards to sales and growth. Their insight in difficult situations is spot on, and pushes me as an owner to step outside my comfort zone and grow. Lorna never lets me off the hook but always celebrates when milestones are met. If I could sum it up in one sentence, she's the world's greatest boss! I have a certain comfort level knowing that with JRM and Lorna by my side I'll continue to expand the business and creatively handle anything that is thrown our way.

Amy Peltier
Peltier Home Interiors
Buyer's Paradise
Every business, CEO, manager, and team member can improve. This simple philosophy when combined with a willingness to learn can be extremely powerful. Today, like never before, if your business is not running efficiently you are dying a slow and painful death. The processes that JRM and Bob Moorman introduced to our business are invaluable. The retail environment is changing at a faster pace than ever before and a business must not only be able to analyze every aspect, but have a plan for implementing change. JRM brings perspective and professionalism.

Everyone can benefit from a coach. If continuous improvement is something that you believe in then I highly recommend the services of JRM and Bob Moorman. I wake up every morning thinking about how I can improve my business. Bob Moorman helped reduce the learning curve by years and held me accountable. I now have a better business perspective both on a macro and micro level.

Brian Wilson
Buyer's Paradise
David's Home & Sleep Center
Sales training could not have been any better. I can’t believe that I was able to keep focused for two very full days. Everyone was involved and it was not just informative, but it was fun. Everyone said that they were committed to applying what they learned in class because it was logical and doable. This was a great investment which will pay for itself many times over for years to come.

Brandise & David Wilkins
David's Home & Sleep Center
Jessup’s Major Appliances
To whom it may concern:

We have been working with Lorna Hunter from JRM sales and Management, for a year. Lorna created different processes for us that helped our sales team be more productive with their personal sales and results. She worked one on one with my team to help create a new outlook and mindset on selling that helped us overcome the challenges we were facing. Lorna also created detailed job descriptions and job evaluations for every position. She put tremendous thought and effort into this process to create consistency and accountability. We have the highest regard for Lorna Hunter and highly recommend her services.

Tom Jessup
John Padgett
Jessup’s Major Appliances
Your Dream Home Furniture & Floors
JRM Sales & Management and our Account Executive have helped us look at our business in ways we haven’t looked at it before. We now have a budget that shows us where we need to be with our margins and sales to be profitable. Since hiring JRM and working closely with our Account Executive, we have improved our Gross Margin by 7 points. We now have job descriptions and job evaluations that have been very helpful in giving our employee’s specific purpose and structure. Thanks to JRM and our Account Executive, we now do management team meetings that have strengthened our organization and helped us identify improvement opportunities as a team.

We would highly recommend JRM to anyone looking to improve their business.

Heather and Dwayne Leichty, Owners
Your Dream Home Furniture & Floors
Friedmans Appliances
We have been working with Lorna Hunter, a member of JRM Sales and Management team, for a year now. From day one, Lorna gave us confidence that we could be and would be more successful than ever before. In this short period of time she has proven to be correct.

Our margins are up about 5%, our financials are under control, our management team is in place, and our employees are being held accountable.

Lorna makes us feel like our success is her primary goal in life, and although she is present a couple of days a month, we feel her presence every day. She is our coach, our mentor, and has become an invaluable member of our team. Our employees look forward to each and every visit. We have just renewed our contract with her for the third time and our business continues to grow with her guidance.

Bob and Pat Atkins
Friedmans Appliances
Clawson Appliances
To Whom It May Concern,

My name is Sharon Clawson. My husband, Jay has been operating our retail appliance business for over 30 years. In 1999 I came on board to manage the daily operations of our business. I entered this job with no business background and felt I was just "winging it" along the way. Our business was successful and growing but causing a lot of added stress to Jay and I as we were growing faster than we could handle. I had attended a talk by JRM Sales & Management and decided to hire them to help me get organized.

I had the pleasant opportunity to work with an Account Executive of JRM Sales & Management from November 2014 through April 2015. Below are just a few areas where JRM and our Account Executive helped us implement methods that have greatly improved our business and operations.

1. Annual Budget - We had never used an annual budget prior to hiring JRM. We now have a budget that was carefully and thoughtfully created and tailored to our business. We are now able to more closely monitor our expenses as well as determine where the most profits are originating.

2. Job Descriptions – We now have job descriptions for each department of our business. This has helped me be more consistent in holding each employee accountable for the prescribed duties.

3. Sales Training – Our sales team now has a selling system with JRM training manuals customized to our business outlining the best-selling practices. In addition to the training and manuals our Account Executive did roll playing with our sales team to help us become even more knowledgeable and effective sales associates.

Throughout the six month process, our Account Executive made himself available to answer any questions that arose between monthly visits. He conducts himself very professionally at all times as well as exhibits immense amount of patience. I would not hesitate to recommend JRM Sales & Management to anyone who may need their services.

Sincerely,

Sharon Clawson
Clawson Appliances
TA Appliances
We've made huge strides in every aspect of our business.

Tim Witzel
TA Appliance
Faller's Furniture
From growing up in the furniture business, I have known the folks at JRM for years. Faller’s Furniture is a 5th generation business that I rejoined after being away in the industry for several years. I was looking to put a new face on the business and take it to the next level. Working with Bob Moorman was a fantastic journey. During our time together we worked on many aspects of the business, developing them into a more manageable entity putting processes in place that will ensure the business' survival for generations to come. When looking for business knowledge and advice, I would not look anywhere else except to the JRM team.

Evan Faller
Faller's Furniture
TA Appliances & Barbecues
Hi Joe,

I just want you to know how happy and excited we are to have David with us. All went great over the last three days and we eagerly await his return. He has the attention and respect of all of us who worked with him. Lots for us to do. I'm confident that under his guidance and direction, we will become a much more improved and profitable organization.

Regards,

Tim Witzel
TA Appliances & Barbecues
Romberger's Appliances, Inc.
After 2 years of searching for someone to help our family owned & operated business, I was referred by Nationwide East to speak with Joe Milevsky of JRM Sales & Management. He listened to my story, saw my tears of frustration and sensed the urgency of our situation. The initial visit was crucial in our family, as Joe had to win the elders (my grandparents) over...in which he did! Over the next 3 months we worked tirelessly on setting up the basics in which we would further build upon. Joe is a very intelligent businessman and impressed us with his knowledge.

Lorna Hunter (Lorna "Dune" as my Grandfather calls her) began working for JRM and brought with her a renewed energy that our family needed. We have learned so much from her and are continuing to learn every step of the way. She is assertive, understanding, encouraging, supportive, knowledgeable, but most of all she cares! We have been working with her for about 6 months and the improvements are overwhelming. My family has hope for the future, and I don't know what we would do without her guidance!

Thank you JRM!

Jennifer L Romberger
Romberger's Appliances, Inc.-Sales Operations Manager
Ruby-Gordon
"Speaking of helping out our fellow retailers, I know you are familiar with JRM and the fine work they do in the industry. Bob Moorman from JRM has a few slots that have recently opened up and is willing to take on a few new clients that are looking for help. I give JRM and Bob in particular an A+ in the help department. I can say unequivocally that without his 2 days a month of focused intense work, we would not be having the profitable year in ’08 that we will be. Even though I know everything I need to do without him, somehow, he guides our team through the land mines of this economy to get everyone focused on the big picture so that we are better equipped to handle this economic mess. It starts with the P&L and ends with a profit.

"I would appreciate it if you would give JRM a call at 678-574-0937 to explore how they can best help FMG members."

Ray Ruby
Ruby-Gordon
Hearth, Patio & Barbecue Education Foundation
"JRM Sales & Management came highly recommended as speakers as well as business consultants. We've had Joe and his team teach at our annual trade show several times over the past few years. Each time his presentations were relevant, well-prepared, delightfully delivered and the material was the practical information our attendees needed to hear. It was great working with a professional speaker that customized his programs for our industry. Working with Joe was a pleasure."

Rick Vlahos
Executive Director
Hearth, Patio & Barbecue Education Foundation
David's Home & Sleep Center
“It’s been just 2 visits, but you have given us hope that we can run and grow our business to attain our vision, not only financially, but more importantly give us our quality of life again so that we run our business instead of it running us. It will allow Brandise and me to get away and take a real vacation.”

David Wilkins
David's Home & Sleep Center
Mountain Home Stove & Fireplace
It’s a pleasure to write praises for you and JRM and a continuing pleasure to work together on aligning the processes and operations of Mountain Home Stove & Fireplace with our vision.

Our business was stuck – static revenue, cycling through staff, routinely facing cash flow problems, and experiencing accidents that wouldn’t have happened if more attention was being paid to training and details. By the end of our busy season, the owner was completely worn out and incapable of finding the energy to be creative. During our first meeting with Joe, it was clear that we could be better. We could grow, be more profitable, offer our customers a better product, and our employees a workplace to be proud of and thrive in. In a way, hiring JRM was an investment we couldn’t afford to say no to. Mike Luciani is like one of our staff. We turn to him without hesitation to discuss ideas and approaches. He has assisted me with setting up processes, procedures, and business infrastructure that are effective and easeful to implement and use. Mike has assisted us with identifying staffing needs, job descriptions and some difficult cultural shifts. Unbelievably, revenues are meeting or exceeding budget and we are facing a very full heating season with appropriate staff, training, a safety program that’s working, and no cash flow headaches.

JRM’s tools are helping us meet some pretty high goals. We are still working hard, but enjoying it more.

Jackie Buratovich
Mountain Home Stove & Fireplace, LLC
McGinnis Appliance and HVAC
Working with Mike and JRM has definitely opened our eyes to areas of our business that needed improvement. Although we have a way to go, I now feel we are headed in the right direction.

From the first visit it was apparent to Mike that communication is our biggest issue. He has made sure that we are talking to each other, sharing ideas and brainstorming; now on a daily basis. I feel that because of this improved communication as a team, Mike has helped us be more proactive rather than reactive.

The JRM team is always there to assist and answer any questions or concerns that come up in between visits. It seems like Mike is here all of the time rather than only several days a month. The JRM processes are teaching us how to be organized. We now truly follow our financials. This gives us the opportunity to see the successes as well as the impact of the financial decisions being made in the company. Each day we can see that we are moving forward. The management team is now beginning to work more on the business rather than in the business.

Suzy Thymian
McGinnis Appliance and HVAC
Boyd's/Merison's Furniture
The JRM team has helped our business greatly over the last few months. Working with Joe and David has improved our companies’ organizational structure, sales processes, goals and many other business practices. I highly recommend their services.

Tim Boyd, CEO
Boyd's/Merison's Furniture
Rodenbaughs Flooring America and Appliances
It is remarkable how much we got out of our 8 month engagement so far. The tools, techniques, and processes that we implemented produced a measurable 24% increase in team effectiveness. After years of trying, we finally have a budget in place that we review monthly and adjust as required. The people who we were sure were going to fight the sales training surprised us by actually embracing it. Our close ratio has increased by 6-10 points and our margins have increased.

Ronald Rodenbaugh
Rodenbaughs Flooring America and Appliances
Clean Sweep the Fireplace Shop
Bringing someone into your business is like bringing someone into your family. It is a decision that can dramatically affect your life, and shouldn’t be taken lightly. We felt we lacked the tools and confidence to take our business to the next level. We also knew the limited resources of our company would not afford the salary required for a full time executive. The solution for us was JRM Sales and Management.

Our business was in need of systems, and sales processes. We were great technicians, but didn’t know the first thing about running a retail store. Based on the needs of our business, we were assigned Mike Luciani. It is a privilege to work with Mike Luciani. I consider Mike a friend, and would encourage anyone looking to grow their business to give JRM a call.

Patrick Tinsley
Owner
Clean Sweep the Fireplace Shop
Gish Furniture
"I started off with Joe doing a business analysis, then Bob convening our peer group, and currently David working with our sales teams. JRM has dramatically impacted the direction and vision that my business has taken over the last couple years. Their expertise covers the entire breadth of the business not just one sector. We have experienced continual sales growth, with this year being over 20%. They have been a pleasure to work with"

Mike Gish
Owner, Gish Furniture
The Amish Craftsman
JRM has facilitated a number of our peer group meeting through the years. After each meeting, I am re-energized and refocused on building and perfecting our small business. The facilitators strike the right balance between moderating the group discussion and providing industry insights (based on the real world, not theory). The bench-marking is an invaluable guide. Each time, my eyes are opened to a new area of potential improvement. I value each meeting and have no doubt our business has improved as a result of our peer group and JRM's professional guidance.

Thank you!

Kim Murphy
The Amish Craftsman
Boyd's/Merison's Furniture
David and Joe have helped my family and our company tremendously. They have given us the tools we needed to get our business to the next level, but they have also given us the encouragement and push we needed to make some tough decisions to better our company. It has been great to have an unbiased, outside perspective to bounce around ideas or issues.
We now have structure, better processes and procedures, and a better outlook on how to handle conflicts and situations as they arise. It doesn’t happen overnight, but if you follow JRM’s guidance and use the tools they give you, your business will continue to evolve, grow, and improve!

Meredith Boyd
Owner/Merison’s Division General Manager
Boyd's/Merison's Furniture
The Mission Motif
I found Mike’s experience and knowledge very helpful during his mentoring. Mike has a lot of energy and really cares about the success of my business. He was always available when I needed him, returning my calls quickly. He was extremely helpful in putting together a budget, which now allows me to see budgeted numbers against actual results. This is a key tool in seeing where my business stands. I found Mike very helpful in analyzing my costs, pricing structure and expenses to determine where my margins need to be maintained. I would highly recommend Mike Luciani to any business owner that is in need of setting up structure and selling systems to achieve a more productive day to day operation.

John Benthal
The Mission Motif
Peters Family Living
We are still using the JRM training we received about 15 years ago and it still works. We had our best year in our 70 year history in 2011 and came close in 2014 which was our second best year. This is just to reinforce your confidence in the program...It Works!

I can only say good things about Joe Milevsky as a person as well as the management and sales training he provides. I highly recommend him to furniture and appliance dealers who want to improve their business. If Joe looks at your business and tells you he can help you, you will get results!

Bill Peters
Peters Family Living
Flame Center
After attending a JRM seminar at an HPBA convention, I began to evaluate my business. I soon realized the culture within my organization was not conducive to growth. The tension and conflict among ownership and employee’s had become unbearable.

Thanks to JRM processes I now have organizational structure including job descriptions, job evaluations, and employee accountability. Thanks to the guidance of our Account Executive as liaison, the culture of our company has improved dramatically and we have been able to remove the boxing gloves from our store.

Our Account Executive is just part of our team. The employee’s know they will meet with him during each visit and can share freely knowing all information remains confidential and only used to take our company culture to the next level. Through this process, our Account Executive has identified areas of opportunity providing for improved communication, effectiveness and efficiencies.

The employees have told me the changes are a lot of work and not always easy, but they acknowledge how much better things are than they were before I started working with JRM and our Account Executive.

JRM’s budgets, dashboards and sales performance system (GPS) are great tools to improve our business. We now have what we need to plan and forecast for the upcoming years along with the ability to measure sales performance.

JRM is providing us with the tools we need to reach the next level.

Rod Huisingh, Owner
Flame Center
Vander Berg Furniture
Vander Berg Furniture in Sioux Center, IA, is a family-owned store established in 1968. It was centered on family values with furniture and décor to fit the decade. Today, the store is still centered on family values, but business has dramatically changed.

With the explosion of online shopping, our store had to reinvent itself to stay competitive. In Nov 2013, Vander Berg Furniture hired JRM Sales & Management, with consultant Bob Moorman, to analyze the current business practices and determine steps for continued success. Bob helped us streamline our merchandising practices, organize our accounting information, establish slotting plans, create job descriptions and implement effective sales training. We now have plans in place that will help our business thrive and ultimately grow. As Bob would say, it’s about orchestrating the outcome you want to achieve, rather than hoping for it. JRM Sales & Management has helped us do just that.

Jeff Vander Berg
Vander Berg Furniture
Bergmann Appliance & TV
We have been with JRM on and off for over 12 years? They have been one of my best decisions in business to date. In my opinion they are a business partner more than a consultant. Bob has been with me the whole time and has my best interest in mind. Not only for me personally, but as well for my business and entire staff. Not only for financial fixes, but also mentally. JRM does not have one magic bullet to fix things, they have hundreds of little ones, and that adds up to one damn good fix. Without Bob I think my business would no longer be here and thriving today in these challenging times.

Ed Bergmann
Bergmann Appliance & TV
Twenty-Two Fifty Interiors
Lorna Hunter has helped our business tremendously! Lorna is a fantastic person to work with and her knowledge is second to none! I would highly recommend allowing JRM Sales to help you take your business to the next level!

Lauren Worsham
Twenty-Two Fifty Interiors
Ruby-Gordon Furniture & Mattreses
Every week before Bob Moorman of JRM is scheduled to arrive for his bi-monthly, 2 day consulting trip to Ruby-Gordon in Rochester New York, a collective groan can be heard throughout the staff. Then the scheduled day arrives and the team files into the conference room for 2 days of stimulating analysis and insight coupled with JRM challenges and ensuing discussions that never disappoint.

After 10 years of continuous involvement with our Company, it is hard to remember the days before JRM and the value they have brought to both our structure and process. Our Partnership relationship has been instrumental in our continued success and we look forward to many more years of support.

Ray Ruby
Ruby-Gordon Furniture & Mattresses
Bob's Woodburners & Fireplaces
JRM has helped a lot to bring our business to the next level. The implementation of budgets, sales tracking, and inventory management systems gives of a new view on how our business is preforming day to day. Keeping staff and management accountable and allowing us to fix problems before they get out of control, or even happen.

Employee job descriptions, evaluations, training, and coaching sometimes are forgotten or put to the side line when you are a small business. These processes are important, and having someone help implement them and hold you accountable for them is invaluable.

Aside from all these great systems, having an experienced professional with an unbiased opinion to discuss your business with is worth the cost in of itself. Thank you Mike and the rest of the JRM team we look forward to working with you into the future.

Justin Santarossa
Bob's Woodburners & Fireplaces
Bill's Discount Furniture
We began our relationship with JRM in December 2013 when Bob Moorman came and did a business analysis on our business. We have two locations selling furniture and bedding and another location bedding only. We also operated 3 stand alone RadioShack Dealerships. The business analysis was very thorough and brought to our attention a number of problems in the way we managed our business. We did not have good command of our business. The employees were running the business. We were very impressed with the expertise of Bob Moorman and signed a contract with JRM for 8 months.

Lorna Hunter became our account manager in January 2014 and immediately began helping us correct some of the problems we had in our business. She has helped us set up budgets for the different locations. It soon became quite clear that one of our RadioShack Dealerships was losing a lot of money. That location was run by an employee that had been with us 20 years and that store was his little kingdom. The lease was coming up for renewal in a few months. Lorna advised us to close that location 3 months before the lease expired due to the loses we were experiencing and the poor management we had there. We closed that location and moved the inventory to our other two RadioShack locations greatly improving our financial situation.

Lorna has helped us with job descriptions for our employees, sales management, and training for our sales people. She helped us with a mission statement; we did not have one. She has helped us give better guidance to our delivery team and make them accountable.

My wife Karen and I are at retirement age and wish to retire as soon as it is feasible to do so. Lorna has been a great help to our daughter who has worked in the business for several years but has not taken a leadership role. With Lorna’s help and advice, our daughter is becoming more confident and assertive in the business. It is our hope that she will be able to assume leadership of the business so that we can retire.

Bill Pardue
Bill's Discount Furniture and Mattress USA
Furniture Plus
1) Without a doubt the performance analysis was a good investment, in a short space of time my analyst was able to point out areas of my business that needed attention and was able to show me areas I should be focusing on to run my business.

2) They Identified and understood the problems in my business and the operational impact and showed proposed solutions.

3) Areas that have benefited so far would be the communication process and problem solving areas that are taken for granted by the management team. We have management meetings that are more effective and less time consuming.

Armil Aleong-Juman
Furniture Plus
Trinidad and Tobago
Clean Sweep The Fireplace Store
I have seen my company form definitive goals and make large strides towards those goals since beginning our relationship with JRM. JRM has the tough task of keeping owners accountable to themselves and their own goals. We would not be where we are without good coaching, and I look forward to where we can go together.

Patrick Tinsley
Clean Sweep The Fireplace Store
Kitchen Tables & More
Working with David Fass has been a tremendous help to the success of our store. Not only has he helped us increase our average sale, he has also shown us ways to be more efficient, top to bottom. We wouldn't be where we are as a company without his coaching and advising.

Phil Vinson
Kitchen Tables and More
Larry Lott Interiors
To whom it may concern:

I have had the pleasure of working with Lorna Hunter over the past several months, and feel she has helped me to organize and set in place policy and procedures to make my operation run smoother and more efficiently. Lorna brings a lot of knowledge and practical experience to the table. I feel a lot of pressure has been taken off me while developing guidelines to help me run my business. I look forward to a long relationship with JRM and Lorna Hunter.

Larry Lott
Larry Lott Interiors
Top Hat Chimney Sweeps
Thanks to JRM and your team we made decisions to expand our company...but due to this sudden growth, we ran into some very serious problems related to accounting and the limitations of our existing knowledge base of our software. This was a very serious problem that we had no answers for except to hire another employee dedicated to keeping up with this commission issue. Your senior retail consultant (Mike) is very resourceful and solved our problem saving us the expense of another full time employee.

This is not the first time your folks have come up with resourceful solutions.

Your guys are great and are saving us a lot of money.

Please let Mike know how much we appreciate him during this stressful time of our business's growth.

Jeff Simmons
Top Hat Chimney Sweeps
Furniture Connection
Lorna is doing fantastic. How lucky we are to have such a motivated person “on our” Team! And I really do, as do the other managers, feel she is on our Team.
Everyday someone comes back to training with a great story. They asked for the sale and got it. They used a new technique and it worked….
They are already motivated and using the sketch books. I wish you were here, we could go have lunch? LOL

Thank you very much for Lorna and your entire Team.


Dave Berggren
Furniture Connection
Shumake Furniture Company
Shumake Furniture Company is a family owned and operated business, which was started in 1934. Though we’ve had many years of experience and weathered many storms through the years business was not great. When asked to describe my present job situation I simply wrote “I’m drowning”. I was ready to give up and saw no way to turn things around. I felt like we had tried everything and yet nothing seemed to work. That’s when we decided to give Mike and JRM a call.

The first thing Mike noticed was though we were family we weren’t communicating or working as a team. Through some very simple but practical suggestions and direction we are now working effectively together which has made a wonderful difference in the atmosphere of the business and the employee’s attitudes.

Mike taught us how to look at the “guts” of our business; the good, the bad and the ugly. We have since re-vamped our budget, which we had never looked closely at before as well as establishing a G.P.S. system, which enables us to track our day-to-day traffic and sales. Mike also taught us how to be smarter and better buyers and helped us establish a Buying Plan.

I can’t tell you how much these changes have meant to me. Mike has a way of talking to people that is “correcting” as well as “encouraging”. Mike’s is an incredible motivator and will have you smiling even on the worst of days! He has given our business hope for the future and we see improvements in our business everyday.

Kristen Shumake
Shumake Furniture Company
Blackberry Creek Mattress
After investigating professional retail consultants, including the recommendations of several retailers, I hired JRM. They told me what they could do in the first meeting and over the next year executed a plan that delivered beyond my expectations. My company’s bottom line has improved sufficiently to more than cover the cost of the services rendered. I am in a position now and for the foreseeable future to be more competitive, employee friendlier and financially successful thanks to JRM.

Richard James
Blackberry Creek Mattress
Hainje's Inc.
David, thanks for helping our business understand that we need to concentrate on the revenue side of our business as much as the operations side. You truly understand the furniture business and it was very instructive to observe you teaching our sales staff in the selling process along with our Mission Statement and Values Statement.

Mark Godwin
Hainje's Inc.
Top Hat Chimney Sweeps
Last spring we began working with JRM Sales and Management to begin the next steps in growing our family business. The experience has been terrific. We have always enjoyed a successful business. This is due primarily to the hard work and continuous efforts of the owners, my parents, Jeff, and Denise Simmons. I joined the company and have worked shoulder to shoulder with both of them for the past seven years. With the new generation on board we realized that we needed help; that we had gone as far as we could on our own. If the company was to continue to flourish and my parents ever had a wish to retire or even step back a bit and enjoy the fruits of their "baby", changes had to be made. JRM has been there for us guiding the way.

For the first time we have a plan, we track progress and understand on paper where the business is going. Mike Luciani, our JRM Senior Consultant has guided us through the steps of running Top Hat the way we want it to run. We are expanding our reach by carefully adding professional additions to the staff; we can now track the progress of our Retail company, selling hearth appliances and associated products separately from the Service company. Mike has and continues to hold us accountable for our actions while we continue to engineer the future of Top Hat Chimney Sweeps. We could not be happier as we positively look toward the future with JRM at our backs!

Trent Simmons
Top Hat Chimney Sweeps
Ashleigh's Hearth and Home and Hudson Valley Chimney
I engaged the services of JRM Sales and Management over a year ago after a very detailed evaluation of my companies by JRM’s CEO, Joe Milevsky. After two very productive days of evaluation, Joe uncovered many areas that were inhibiting the business’s growth. I quickly realized that I needed guidance along with my staff to make the recommended changes that would guide me toward the future growth of Ashleigh’s Hearth and Home and Hudson Valley Chimney Sweep. Joe sent in Mike Luciani, a 40 year retail veteran to guide, teach and assist me and the staff in making the changes that are necessary to get the business on a pattern of growth. I now have tools that allow me to measure the business on a daily basis. Processes have been put in place that are designed to make all staff members work as a team and hold my team accountable for the success of the company. As a team, the staff works smarter not harder. JRM continues to guide me and my staff toward the success that I have always planned for and want to achieve. It does not happen overnight, we work on it every day remembering that we are not involved in a sprint, but rather a marathon!

Bill Murphy, Owner
Ashleigh’s Hearth and Home and Hudson Valley Chimney
Chipperfields Home Store
"About 6 months ago, we sought assistance from JRM Sales and Management. JRM performed an objective and confidential on-site evaluation of all aspects of our business. This evaluation opened our eyes as to the potential of our business as well as the roadblocks preventing our further growth and profitability.

"JRM provided solutions that we could put into practice. These solutions addressed every area of our business such as financial controls, budgeting, sales, sales management, merchandising, organizational development and effective personnel management.

"The recommended changes were not easy, but after implementing them, the positive impact has already been felt.

"We have observed increased sales, profitability and cash flow all the while decreasing unproductive inventory and operating loans.

"I would highly recommend JRM to any retailer who desires to increase and enhance their business and take it to the next level.

"I anticipate our continued relationship with JRM to be a long and rewarding one!

"I would invite anyone to call us if they have any questions or concerns regarding JRM."

Lee and Dica Chipperfield
Chipperfields Home Store
Shore Appliance Connection Inc.
"Shore has used JRM’s services since September of 2006. I have found their program to be exactly what we needed. First, it has given me a completely different insight to what my employees expect from me as their employer. Second, it has provided a training platform as I prepare my two sons to take over the business in future years by giving them an outline that can be tracked and verified for essential business making statistics. They are able to see a completely designed sales and management system and have learned how even the smallest change in sales, margins or expenses impact the total bottom line.

"Finally, as we continue, we will use the program to fine tune the business to maximize the ROI so the boys will have a strong, well-balanced business with a proven track record that will help them establish critical vendor and financial relationships when I retire.

"They have become part of our management team and offer the outside vision our company needed."

Gary W. Larmore, President
Shore Appliance Connection Inc.
Greer's
"JRM Sales & Management is the single comprehensive solution for directing our home furnishings business toward increased profitability while giving our people a pathway to success in accomplishing their personal goals. The JRM expertise covers our needs in financial budgeting, organizational development built around meaningful job descriptions and accountability for every employee. A professional selling program begins with thorough training, then giving our sales manager the tools and guidance needed to lead and coach each sales associate toward success. Finally, the JRM merchandising plan gives us the tools to stock the winners while constantly improving gross margin return on investment.

"David Fass is the perfect fit for the challenges facing our furniture and appliance business. He constantly prompts me to focus on the most critical projects which will bring success. He keeps a plan of action in place not only for me but also for other key team members. This plan changes constantly, depending upon our company’s most critical needs. His methods have taught me to keep every individual employee accountable for specific results, which allows me to worry less about detail and more about leadership."

Bo Carey
Greer's
Woodstock Furniture Outlet
“JRM has become a part of the family. At a point when our company was growing faster than we could imagine, the JRM team took us to a professionally run organization. The results have been tremendous and like a big brother we can depend on JRM to keep us on the mark. We truly appreciate what JRM has done for our company…”

Brian Aaron
Woodstock Furniture Outlet
Downtown Appliance
“Our experience with JRM taught us to look at our business strategically, to take a long view of important issues. Before our time with JRM, we just reacted – now we are trying to be proactive!”

John Graves
Downtown Appliance
The Sleep Store
“After many successful years in manufacturing I am enjoying a second career in retail. My association with JRM has afforded me a tremendous insight into retail helping me to translate my previous career into that of furniture retail…”

Lillian Fisher
The Sleep Store
Graugnard's
"JRM taught me the nuts and bolts of running my business and as time goes by, I realize more and more what a good investment JRM was for me and my business.”

Sonny Graugnard
Graugnard's
Chariho Furniture
"With business conditions less than ideal, every competitive advantage is helpful. My staff is more professional and our follow-up is the best it has ever been. I would recommend this process to any retailer and I, along with my staff, have nothing but praise for Mike Luciani’s knowledge and professionalism." (to view entire letter)

Ed Smith, President
Chariho Furniture
Dave's World, Inc.
"Finding JRM Sales and Management might have been by chance, luck or even fate; what I have learned from the process couldn't be any further away. It was Engineered! Our Account Executive and JRM's tools have changed us. We have learned how to be planned, proactive and intentional in everything that we do! We control our fate! We are in the driver seat of our "baby", DAVE'S WORLD INC. I now live and work by our value system that we have created. Not only has the service helped me in my business life, but also in my personal life."

Matthew Scott
Dave's World, Inc.
Everton Mattress and Furniture
"JRM has helped our business identify profit centers that were non-existent or not fully developed within our assortment offerings. This discovery grew the average ticket by 60% and increased our close rate by 20%.

"Annual marketing plans implemented under the direction of JRM gave Everton Mattress and Furniture the opportunity to ensure proper traffic flows necessary to support store sales.

"Through the implementation of JRM processes and methods; measurements and benchmarking have been clearly defined in merchandising, marketing, selling, and financial strategies. This has helped EMF have a better understanding in making decisions that are crucial to the company’s success.

"Proper goal development did not exist within our selling strategies or sales management. JRM established processes, procedures and methods that installed accountably on the selling floor which in turn raised the average ticket, close rate and add-on sales opportunities."

Chris Sanders
Everton Mattress and Furniture
Sofa Table Chair
"After spending time with Bob Moorman and Mike Luciani of JRM, I had a new understanding of the business end of my furniture store. I especially appreciated the extensive time spent on helping me to establish a detailed budget as I opened my second store location. I also appreciated the level of professionalism exhibited by these gentlemen, without any stuffiness. We had many good times, laughs, and honest exchanges as we worked hard together over the months. My staff enjoyed Mike's interaction with each of them, and his help in sales training during one of his visits. One can be assured that, collectively, JRM has many years of hands-on experience in the furniture industry which I appreciated gleaning from."

Susan Walter
Sofa Table Chair
Yturralde Interiors
"On behalf of myself and our 13 employees, we would like to thank you and your company for the training and organizational assistance you provided for our Company. After implementing your recommendations in late 2006 we just reached our 50th Anniversary.

"Your program is something we should have done many years ago. It has allowed us to clearly define the individual responsibilities and expectations of each employee working toward a common goal. It focuses the team toward increased customer service and sales.

"Setting goals, setting expectations and changing old habits is not an immediate result. Progress is slow but after a year and a half we can only look back and realize how much better organized we are. Ultimately we expect to achieve our goals."

Fito Yturralde
Yturralde Interiors
True Value Hardware & Home
"We started with JRM Sales and Management at the worst possible time. The economy had basically collapsed as we knew it and the future did not look much better. Michael Luciani has been everything from a financial advisor, a teacher and coach for me and my staff, a GREAT sounding board, a therapist, and a friend. With his help we have made great strides on improving many different areas of the business. Mike's expertise on everything from Inventory, Employee Management, to Accounting has without a doubt helped us through this very trying time. Mike either has the knowledge we need for whatever problem we are having or he uses his resources with JRM to find the answer. Mike and JRM are definitely a valuable asset to my business."

Vic Grogan
True Value Hardware & Home
Cramer's Home Furnishings
"JRM helped us take control of our business. By implementing their programs we reduced our inventory, increased our bottom line and my wife and I actually get a day off once in awhile!"

Marty Cramer
Cramer's Home Furnishings
Great Deals on Furniture
"As a husband/wife start up, we found ourselves buried in the day-to-day operations and unfortunately too much crises management. With JRM and Mike Luciani’s help we were forced to stop and “work on the business” instead of “working in the business”. We were able to take a step back, look at the whole picture, get a handle on what was really happening and then take necessary steps to point our business in the right direction. The Goal Performance System has proven to be an excellent tool to measure the effectiveness of our sales team, which has resulted in better training, bigger tickets and a higher close ratio. Mike helped us create budgets and get our advertising budget in line, among many other financial areas. The advice, encouragement and friendship Mike provided for us through a very difficult and challenging period helped us navigate ourselves to the answers we needed. This experience has been priceless!"

Eddie and Carol Kennedy
Great Deals on Furniture
Enchanted Fyreside
"Mike, I would like to personally thank you for taking time to make our work environment more "Enchanted". Your professionalism and knowledge of the hearth industry, as well as, your positive "how-to approach" on client service is something I will adapt and aspire to in my professional and personal life."

Lauren, Administration Specialist
Enchanted Fyreside
Lindsley's
"Simply put, JRM knows the furniture business...Trying to exist in a very small market always presents very specific challenges, which they recognized. The biggest take away; make a profit with the business you have, not necessarily the business you think you have."

Jeff Lindsley
Lindsley's
Peters Family Living
"I am getting ready for a three-week vacation to Paris and Istanbul at a time when Peters Family Living is on track for the best year of our 65 year history (in spite of our economy). When I leave town, I will not be calling the store to check on things. I will not be on call in case of emergency. I will not lie awake at night worrying or wondering about the store. I will have peace of mind knowing that I have a management team and a staff of 17 employees who are all on the same page as to our operational systems, our mission, our values, and our focus on customer service. I owe all of the above to JRM Sales & Management. Thank you Joe Milevsky! I would never have been able to make these statements if we still operated like we did before you came along 10 years ago. We still use the methods you taught us, and they still work! Hopefully other businesses will allow you to help them so they can have the same successes and peace of mind that I now enjoy."

Bill Peters
Peters Family Living
Young's Appliances
"JRM has provided insight and knowledge to me and my staff that, when we implement them, will ensure profitability and job security for everyone. My experience with JRM Sales has energized me and my staff to affect positive change that will help me manage our business for the future. Everyone at JRM has a genuine concern for my business success."

Doug Samuels
Young's Appliances
Enchanted Fireside
"Since engaging JRM Sales and Management, our Hearth Products business has changed for the better. We now have a business-specific chart of accounts allowing us to be proactive and flexible in our yearly budget as well as monthly financials. We can quickly create budget scenarios altering accounts, then evaluating our business’s health. For the first time, just two weeks after our year end date we know our tax status. JRM’s scope goes well beyond the financials and deep into team building embraced by our entire staff. Our team is now guided by job descriptions and reviews and are much better able to cope with the daily demands of the hearth industry. The sales team is more focused on relationship building and putting our clients needs first, satisfying the Enchanted Fireside mission.

"We continue to rely on JRM Sales and Management as a mentor as we strive to improve and prosper from our business."

Rocco & Karen DiVerdi
Enchanted Fireside
Lynch’s Furniture & Appliance
"You don’t have to partake in the economic downturn. Like everyone else I imagine, I knew the economy was going in the wrong direction and if I continued to run the business as I always did, the results would mirror the economy. When JRM Sales & Management did a 2 day analysis of my business last year and told me that I could increase my profits by investing in my business and spending even more money I was skeptical. Using my own financial data, they showed me how and why letting them help me would be a wise investment. We signed up for an 8 month engagement and extended the engagement because of the results.

"When comparing the first quarter of 2009 against the same quarter 2008, our expenses increased by 15.2% and we changed our sales compensation plan from a base pay to a plan that paid based upon performance. Sales increased by over 20% and profits by 71.3%.

"Was it easy and take no effort…no it wasn’t. Was it worth the effort…absolutely! Ask yourself what you did last year to effect change instead of just complaining about how bad everything is."

Steve Lynch
Lynch’s Furniture & Appliance
Creative Interiors and Design
"JRM did an excellent job evaluating our business and laying out a step-by-step plan to help us reach our goals. They empowered us to intentionally shift from an Owner-centered business to a Mission-centered business. We are thankful for their team approach, their competence, their ability to listen and their integrity. We are glad we chose JRM to help us grow and develop. At the end of the day, we felt like JRM cared about Creative Interiors and Design, had excellent tools and most importantly exceptional people operating them."

Ryan Townsend
Creative Interiors and Design
Appliance Enterprise
"...It's very emotional for any one to come in and mess with their baby. For an owner this is all their company is. We birth them, grow them, and educate them. We watch them grow and become teenagers. Now we are bringing in the college of JRM Sales & Management with hopes of training them to be better and smarter than before. Letting go is a hard but a necessary process of child/ business development."

Brad Barker
Appliance Enterprise
Olinde's Furniture
"Joe, I just wanted to write and thank you for the excellent sales training program administered by JRM Sales & Management. Your trainers, David Fass and Michael Luciani, were first rate. Our 90 sales associates and 14 managers thoroughly enjoyed it and received great take-away lessons and materials. Even one of our most hardened and experienced sales associates said he got some wonderful tips. He said "it is refreshing to be trained by professional people with tons of retail experience.

"I would whole-heartedly recommend Joe Milevsky's JRM organization to any retailer looking to measure and improve sales performance."

Tom Olinde, President
Olinde's Furniture
Town and Country
"Our experience with JRM Sales & Management has been a very profitable and enjoyable experience. We are a family run business that is in the process of trying to evolve into a business that is run by policy, procedures, and accountability. While it has been a lot of hard work, my wife and I are convinced we made the right choice in investing in our business even at a time that the economy is not at it's best. We have been able to hold our figures even though sales all around us are down dramatically. Mike Luciani has been fantastic in helping in any area that we have asked and encouraging us in all facets of the business. JRM has been nothing but professional. We've signed up for another term!"

Charles Puckett
Town and Country
World Hi Fi Home Store
"We engaged JRM Sales and Management over a year ago. They have been a great help to us over that time. It is like having another set of eyes on the company. I find myself comfortable enough to call my account executive whenever I need advice or just a sounding board. JRM is there for my company and continues to play a key role in our organization."

Bill Pelfrey, Jr.
World Hi Fi Home Store
Scotty's Audio and Video
"We immediately connected with our account executive, Mike Luciani and respect his advice. We are so pleased that Milton Dortch had the patience to stick with us during the decision process so that we finally took the steps to seek JRM’s assistance. The light at the end of the tunnel is there just knowing that we are being proactive about our business. Since we are a second generation family business we finally feel like Scotty’s is our business and not like we are just replacements with no right of passage."

Kim and Cyndee Scott
Scotty's Audio and Video
Imhoff's Hometown Appliance Center
"Jim Grandillo and JRM have taught me how to hold myself and my staff accountable for results. We have grown and prospered these past two years in spite of a weak economy, and we are a better and stronger company because of our association with them."

Russell Imhoff
Imhoff's Hometown Appliance Center
Rifes TV& Appliance
"JRM taught us how to develop our operating budget as a tool to help us manage our business proactively. We now know where we are going and also what to do to help us get there. Working with JRM and Jim Grandillo has been a real eye-opener for us!"

Mary Osborne
Rifes TV& Appliance
Torgovij Tsentr Don
"We engaged JRM Sales and Management over five years ago. They helped us to bring our organization to the forefront of the furniture retail/wholesale in Russia. We have restructured our 500+ employee organization, we have implemented the sales system in all 7 of our stores, we follow their recommendations in merchandising and marketing and we continue to exploit their expertise in all corners of our business. Times are very tough here in Russia, the traffic is 50% down, but we are making money. Thanks JRM!"

Naum Alper
Torgovij Tsentr Don
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
Best Fire Hearth & Patio
"Michael Luciani and JRM was definitely a positive experience for us as a team at Best Fire Hearth & Patio, and also for me personally, as a young sales manager. They helped me add synergy to our sales team by teaching me how to communicate regularly, openly, and fairly with my team. By implementing the changes Mike suggested, I now have a better overall sales team; one which is more motivated, better informed, more confident, and focused on their individual goals and mission of our company. I would highly recommend JRM to any organization (except my competition) who wants to maximize their overall performance and promote a better place to work."

Lucas Stritsman
Sales Manger, Best Fire Hearth & Patio
Clewell's Family Hardware
"David Fass and JRM have been invaluable to our company in the last 6 months. By no means have we reached all our goals, but we're a different company from who we were before. David has supported us with insight and accountability through a period of extreme economic uncertainty, and with his help we have made several significant changes to our business that will be a foundation for controlled, consistent growth. JRM is helping us fix root problems we didn't know we had while teaching us skills we didn't know we lacked. I don't know where we'd be without them, but I'm excited about where we're going together!"

Aaron Clewell
Clewell's Family Hardware
The Amish Connection
"We have enjoyed working with David Fass from JRM Sales & Management. He is a down-to-earth person who has given us many insights into how we can improve our organization both fiscally and managerially. While change is never easy, David has shown us what to measure so we can understand the changes that need to be made, and he has been sure to stay tightly coupled with us to coach us through the process. I am very pleased with JRM's sales training and the measuring and management tools they have provided to us. Even in tough times, the money we spent to team up with David and JRM was well worth it!"

Chester Hine
Owner, The Amish Connection
Portfolio Interiors
"Michael Luciani and JRM have helped Black and White Décor (now Portfolio Interiors) build a stellar sales team and a great company culture. In the short time we have been working with them, we have moved from saying "we would like to be successful" to "we know we can be successful, and here is how." JRM has given us the tools and confidence we were lacking to achieve our goals in the past. Michael has become a valuable part of our team and a friend. We look forward to his visits knowing our business will run a little bit smoother every time he leaves. Michael has the experience and vision to help us make the right decisions when they are needed, and to stay the course when we are in doubt. Thank you JRM!"

Kathy Underwood
Manager, Portfolio Interiors
Perry's Furniture, Inc.
"After several trips to both High Point and Vegas Markets and visits to the Retailer Resource Center, we finally signed up for the initial Business Analysis -- are we glad that we did!!! JRM's first deep dive into our business was direct and detailed. Their flexibility in scheduling visits allowed us to work at our pace. David's interaction with the Administration, Sales, Marketing, and Delivery teams was genuine and professional. He worked well with our most tenured people and our newest hires. The JRM tools gave us in depth insight into our budgeting, merchandising, and performance management that helps us see our business in an entirely different light. Coupling that with the sales performance training has lifted our performance and sales, as well as our attitude. We now have a clear vision, mission, and pathway to success. We are still working hard, but now we are also working smarter. Thank you David, Bob, and Joe."

Kimberly Perry & Michael Hewlett
Perry's Furniture, Inc.